Hackernoon logoUnpopular Opinions: Nicolas Cage is a Good Actor by@Limarc

Unpopular Opinions: Nicolas Cage is a Good Actor

image
Limarc Ambalina Hacker Noon profile picture

@LimarcLimarc Ambalina

Hacker Noon's VP of Growth by day, VR Gamer and Anime Binger by night

Book a call
with @Limarc

This Slack discussion by Limarc Ambalina, Amy Tom and David Smooke occurred in slogging's official #unpopular-opinion channel, and has been edited for readability.

Limarc AmbalinaFeb 1, 2021, 4:47 PM
Nicolas Cage is a good actor.
Amy TomFeb 1, 2021, 6:47 PM
Hands down. He’s gotta be the only actor who has been in a movie with Cher, Meg Ryan, AND Emma Stone hahhahahha
Amy TomFeb 1, 2021, 6:47 PM
Statistically speaking, he must be the best. He’s been in 110 films and counting
David SmookeFeb 1, 2021, 9:12 PM
Including Faceoff!
image
David SmookeFeb 1, 2021, 9:24 PM
Adaption was amazing https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6woPWN7X5U
David SmookeFeb 1, 2021, 9:28 PM
He's been in movies that range from 0% to 97% on Rotten Tomatoes https://www.rottentomatoes.com/celebrity/nicolas_cage
image
David SmookeFeb 1, 2021, 10:10 PM
You know what's better than one Nic Cage? Two Nic Cages https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdA9_mtXYME
Amy TomFeb 1, 2021, 11:23 PM
And of course, critically acclaimed National Treasure IS a national treasure https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jApIcfIHe1E
David SmookeFeb 2, 2021, 12:07 AM
Honest Trailers!
David SmookeFeb 2, 2021, 12:07 AM
Did you know National Treasure the DVD came with a treasure hunt? https://www.latimes.com/entertainment-arts/movies/story/2020-04-11/10-dvd-easter-egg-hunts-worth-your-time
image
Amy TomFeb 2, 2021, 12:09 AM
Wow DVD games were the shit
Amy TomFeb 2, 2021, 2:54 AM
image
Amy TomFeb 2, 2021, 2:54 AM
I'm about to get a boyfriend on hinge #bringalltheboystotheyard
Limarc AmbalinaFeb 2, 2021, 2:57 AM
Let's test it. How does Benjamin Gates get access to Abigail's safe?
Amy TomFeb 2, 2021, 2:59 AM
I mean Abigail doesn't own the safe 😅 he got into her office with the coin and he got into the safe where the delectation of independence is by using special laser pointers to disarm the system while it went into cleaning 😂
David SmookeFeb 3, 2021, 9:47 PM
Look at the range of his facial expressions here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2jTQpfspEdk&t anger to confusion to fear to realization to empathy to epiphany to remorse to empowerment to catlike to scared to relief, How can you not think he's the greatest - and dare I say strongest and most athletic - actor of all time?
Limarc AmbalinaFeb 3, 2021, 11:15 PM
Cage is so animated in his normal roles, he's just the perfect choice as a voice actor for kids films
Limarc AmbalinaFeb 3, 2021, 11:18 PM
But I do have to say that I can watch National Treasure every year and never get sick of it. Also Gone in 60 Seconds in underrated and still might be my favorite Nicolas Cage film of all time.
David SmookeFeb 3, 2021, 11:53 PM
Animated? The other characters may be animated, but I'm fairly certain that is Nicolas Cage acting as Grug Crood.

Tags

Join Hacker Noon

Create your free account to unlock your custom reading experience.