This story draft by @legalpdf has not been reviewed by an editor, YET.

Exhibit J - Texts between Elon Musk and others

Legal PDF HackerNoon profile picture

@legalpdf

Legal PDF

Legal PDFs of important tech court cases are far too...

Twitter v. Elon Musk Court Filing by Potter Anderson & Corroon LLP, July 12, 2022 is part of HackerNoon’s Legal PDF Series. You can jump to any part in this filing here. This is Exhibit J.

Exihibit J

  • 2022-04-04 to 2022-04-14

    • Mathias Döpfner: 👍
    • [2022-04-14] Mathias: <Attachment - application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document-Twitter_lnterview.doc>

  • 2022-04-11

    • Kimbal Musk: Great to hang yesterday. I'd love to help think through the structure for the Doge social media idea Let me know how I can help
    • Elon: Ok

  • 2022-04-14

    • Elon to Marc Merill: ["loved" "you are the hero Gotham needs -hell F'ing yes!"]

  • 2022-04-14

    • Elon to Steve Davis: ["liked" "Amazing! Not sure which plan to root for. If Plan B wins, let me know if blockchain engineers would be helpful."]

  • 2022-04-15

    • Elon to Omead Afshar: ["laughed at" "Who knew a Saudi Arabian prince had so much leverage and so much to say about twitter."]
  • 2022-04-20

    • Brian Kingston: Hi Elon-it's Brian Kingston at Brookfield. There was an artide today in the FT that said we (Brookfield) have "decided against providing an equity cheque• for a Twitter buyout. I Just wanted to let you know that didn't came from us-we would never comment (on or off the record) about something like that, particularly when it relates to one of our partners. We appreciate all that we are doing on solar together and you allowing us to participate in the Boring Co raise this week. While I'm sure you don't believe anything you read in the FT anyway, I'm sorry if the article caused any aggravation. If there is anything we can do to be helpful, please do let me know.

  • 2022-04-23 to 2022-05-09

    • Micahel Grimes: Michael Grimes here so you have my number and know who is calling. Dialing you now
    • Elon: ["liked" above]
    • Micahel
    • Elon: ["laughed at" above]
    • Micahel: If you have a second to chat
    • Michael: Perfect.
    • Michael: got it. Will forward the equity Interest email to Jared and Alex that he sent in and have It in the queue in the event his interest is needed overall. Absent the blockchain piece he's focused on investing if you want his interest in Twitter and your mission but we can park him for now.
    • Michael: Agree. Was one piece of equation and I do think he would be at least3bn if you like him and want him, maybe more. Will work with Jared and Alex to be sure it makes sense to meet -my instinct is it does because Orlando Brace also declined today in the end (not sure if political fears or what but he fiaked today}.
    • [2022-05-04] Elon: No response from Bret, not even an interest in talking. I think it's probably best to release the debt tomorrow. This might take a while.
    • Micahel Grimes: Nikesh came to see me this afternoon. Just to talk Twitter and you. If you had the time he would cancel his plans tomorrow night to meet with you and come to where you are in SF or mid peninsula Or he could fly to Austin another time of course. If you want me to send him to you let me know and he will break his lans to do
    • Elon: It's fine, no need to break his plans.
    • Michael: Got it.
    • Michael: I asked Pat and Kristina to each spend the weekend writing up their transition and diligence plan and how to approach debt rating agencies on may 16. We need one of them signed up (employment contract for 3 months) as Transition CFO of X Holdings and owning the model and diligence from financial point of view on the follow up meetings with Twitter on costs and users and engineers etc. We believe two will not work at the agencies or in front of debt investors as you have to have one CFO. If you were willing to have SVP Ops of X Holdings (Pat would be more qualified for that than Kristina I then it's possible to retain them both for the transition. The way to stay on ludicrous speed Is to pick one of them tomorrow as transition CFO and then we run with it full metal jacket. I believe each can do the job and deliver the ratings and debt and transition plan for day one. Then you dismiss him/her as job well done or offer permanent CFO if you choose.
    • Elon: Neither were great.
    • Elon: They asked no good questions and had no good comments.
    • Elon: Let's slow down just a few days
    • Elon: Putin's speech tomorrow is extremely important
    • Elon: It won't make sense to buy Twitter if we're headed into WW3
    • Elon: Just sayin
    • Michael: Understood. If the pace stays rapid each are good enough to get job done for the debt Then you hire great for go forward. But will pause for May 9 Vladimir and hope for the best there. We can take stock of where things look after that.
    • Elon: ["liked" above]
    • Elon: An extremely fundamental due diligence item is understanding exactly how Twitter confims that 95% of their daily active users are both real people and not double-counted.
    • Elon: They couldn't answer that on Friday, which is insane.
    • Elon: If that number is more like 50% or lower, which is what I would guess based on my feed, then they have been fundamentally misrepresenting the value of Twitter to advertisers and investors.
    • Elon: To be super clear, this deal moves forward if it passes due diligence, but obviously not if there are massive gaping issues.
    • Elon: True user account is a showstopper if actually much lower than the 95% claimed
    • Elon: Parag said thatTwitter has 2500 coders doing at least 100 lines per month. Maybe they could fit this feature in ... https://twitter.com/skylerrainnj/status/1523616659365277698?s=1O&t=1qmVNhjQPeHafBPEHiFrRQ

  • 2022-04-25

    • Adeo Ressi: <Attachment-image/jpego-Elon Musk and Twitter Reach Deal on Sale Live Up....jpeg>
    • Adeo: Congrats? This will be a good thing.
    • Elon: I hope so :)
    • Adeo: You've had ideas on how to fix that companyfor A LONG TIME. The time is now.
    • Adeo: I think it's exciting.

  • 2022-04-25

    • James Musk: Congrats! Super important to solve the bot problem.
    • Elon: Thanks
    • Elon: The bot problem is severe

  • 2022-04-27

    • Elon to Reid Hoffman: This is Elon

  • 2022-05-01

    • Elon to Sean Parker [VC and founder of Napster]: Am at my Mom's a apartment, doing Twitter diligence calls

  • 2022-05-02

    • Jason Calacanishttps://twitter.com/elonmusk/status/1521158715193315328?s=1O&t=htc_On6KY9B9C4VtllFIO
    • Jason: one thing you can do in this regard is an SPV of 250 folks capped at $10m .. pain on the next for a large company but one item on cap table
    • Jason: You do have to have someone lead/man a e the SPV
    • Elon: Go ahead
    • Jason: ["liked" above]
    • Jason: When you're private its fairly easy to do, but I think current shareholders have to re-up
    • Elon: Are you sure?
    • Jason: I am not
    • Jason: Have never done a take private
    • Jason: Large shareholders (QPs) are likely different than non-accredited investors
    • [2022-05-12] Elon: What's going on with ou marketing an SPV to randos? This is not ok.
    • Jason: Not randos, I have the largest angel syndicate and that's how I invest. We've done 25D+ deals like this and we know all the folks. I though that was how folks were doin it.
    • Jason: $100m+ on commitments, but if that not ok it's fine. Just wanted to support the effort.
    • Jason: ~300 QPs and 200 accredited investors said they would do it. It's not an open process obviously, only folks alread in our syndicate.
    • Jason: There is massive demand to support uyour effort btw...people really want to see you win.
    • Elon: Morgan Stanley and Jared thing you are using our friendship not in a good way
    • Elon: This makes it seem like I'm desperate
    • Elon: Please sto
    • Jason: Only ever want to support you.
    • Jason: Clearly you're not desperate -you have the worlds greatest investors voting in support of a deal you already have covered. you're overfunded. will quietly cancel it... And to be clear, I'm not out actively soliciting folks.These are our exiting LPs not rondos. Sorry forany trouble
    • Elon: Morgan Stanley and Jared are very upset
    • Jason: Ugh
    • Jason: SPVs are how everyone is doing there deals now... Like loved to SPVs etc
    • Jason: Just trying to support you... obviously, I reached out to Jared and sort it out.
    • Jason: * moved
    • Elon: Yes, I had to ask him to stop.
    • Elon: ["liked" "Just trying to support..."]
    • Jason: Cleaned it up with Jared
    • Elon: ["liked" above]
    • Jason: I get where he is coming from.... Candidly, This deal has just captures the worlds imagination In an unimaginable way. It's bonkers...
    • Jason: And you know I'm ride or die brother - I'd jump on a grande for you
    • Elon: ["loved" above]

  • 2022-05-05

    • Elon to Sam BF: Sorry, who is sending this message?

  • 2022-05-05

    • Elon to James Murdoch: In LA right now. SF tomorrow to due dilligence on Twitter.

  • 2022-05-05

    • Elon to John Elkann [heir of Gianni Agnelli]: Sorry, I have to be at Twitter HQ tomorrow afternoon for due dilligence.

  • 2022-05-05

    • David Sacks: ["liked" "Best to be low-key during transaction "]

  • 2022-05-10 [unclear what's happening due to redactions; may be more than one convo here]

    • Antonio Gracias: Connecting you.
    • [redacted]: Hi Elon This is Peter and my numbers. Look forward to being helpful Bob
    • Elon: Got it
    • Elon: Should we use the above two numbers for the conf call?
    • [redacted]: Sure

  • 2022-06-16 to 2022-06-17

    • [redacted]: If I understood them correctly, Ned [presumebly Ned Segal, CFO of Twitter] and Parag said that cash expenditures over the next 12 months will be $78 and that cash receipts will also be $78. However, the cash receipts number doesn't seem realistic, given that they expect only $1.2B in CU, which is just $4.8B annualized.
    • [redacted]: In europe so just getting your msg. i do not have proxy w me but my guess is they are using their proxy numbers vs current reality. we are developing proformas that have lower revenue/receipts and lower disbursements.
    • Elon: Ok. Given that Q2 is almost over, itobviousl doesn't make sense for them to use proxy numbers vs [looks like something is cut off here — seems like text is in a spreadsheet and word wrap wasn't used on this row, which was then printed and scanned in]
    • Elon: I'm traveling in Europe right now, but back next week
    • [redacted]: i spokewned on the 7b receipts/expenses. he said he was trying to be more illustrative on '23 expense base, pre any actions we would take and provide a simplified strawman of possible savings. he said they are not planning on doing an updated fcst for 22/23. i think this Is ok re process since i think their fcst would not likely be very good and we wouldn't likely use It anyways. They fly at way too high a level to have a fcst of much value. We are in process of developing revenue fcst and a range of sensitivities and will then walk thru w them to get their input.
    • Elon: Their revenue projections seem disconnected from reality
    • [redacted]: completely.
    • Elon: Phew, it's not just me

Legal PDF HackerNoon profile picture
by Legal PDF @legalpdf.Legal PDFs of important tech court cases are far too inaccessible for the average reader... until now.
Read My Stories

RELATED STORIES

L O A D I N G
. . . comments & more!
Hackernoon hq - po box 2206, edwards, colorado 81632, usa